Created 10-Jun-13
24 photos

Construction of the Ricks Academy BuildingConstruction of the Ricks Academy BuildingRicks Academy Building, 1905Ricks Academy Building, 1910Ricks Academy Building, 1916Ricks Academy Building and Gym BuildingRicks Academy Library Department, 1937In 1964, the academy building was officially renamed the Jacob Spori Building after the first principle of the academy.In 2000, over 1,700 people came to celebrate the original Spori Building one last time before its planned demolition.Spori Building ArchitectureSpori Building ArchitectureSpori Building ArchitectureDuring demolition in 2000, a fire erupted and destroyed the remains of the original Spori Building.During demolition in 2000, a fire erupted and destroyed the remains of the original Spori Building.In 2003, the new Spori Building was completed and built in a style reminiscent of the original 1903 Spori Building structure.Night time view of the Jacob Spori Building with skylight visible on top of the buildingThe original 1903 Spori Building facade is on permanent display in the new Spori Building.The third floor of the Spori Building is home to BYU-Idaho's Art Department.  The artwork of students, often showcased on the third floor, is complimented by the building�s beautiful architecture.Skylights stream in natural light illuminating art and photography in the hallways of the Jacob Spori Building.A large classroom in the basement of the Jacob Spori Building.

Categories & Keywords
Category:
Subcategory:
Subcategory Detail:
Keywords: